Home » Writing » Quantity produces quality…

Quantity produces quality…

A request to blog my thoughts came to me this morning from a really good friend who’s doing the same. Since I believe wholeheartedly in the title of this first blog post, (and I take immense pleasure in the voyeuristic peeks he allows into his own head) here we all are.

So now that I’m sitting here, an enormous blank space to fill in, what is there to say? And that’s where Ray comes in…No, not THAT Ray–I see you smiling.

I’m actually talking about Ray Bradbury. He once said,

Quantity produces quality. If you only write a few things, you’re doomed.

Looking at that quote, one might be inclined to say, “Screw that! I’d rather write one thing and have it be really awesome!” However, I’m of a different mind…and I enjoy the challenge of the game.

Stay tuned if you are of the same opinion because good ole Ray also said,

Any man who keeps working is not a failure. He may not be a great writer, but if he applies the old-fashioned virtues of hard, constant labor, he’ll eventually make some kind of career for himself as writer.

Drop your thoughts

