Home » Emotions » The unsaid, for me, exerts great power . . .

The unsaid, for me, exerts great power . . .

And so begins NaNoWriMo! I woke up, tended to life, and then sat down to write. But, before a single word tumbled into my story, I blanked–just stumbling through the web and thinking. Mostly about things unrelated, but then I opened my NaNo email and found a mini ‘pep talk’ stuffed amongst the buddy list notifications.

Some things to remember this week as you set off on your noveling adventure:
-Turn off or lock away your Inner Editor.
-Try and hit the goals that you’ve set for yourself! Don’t delete or hit back space; just keep writing!
-But don’t be too serious – this is all in the name of fun! Remember that.

So now the work begins. I’ve got my outline all squared away, the ideas locked up tightly in my head, and the words primed and ready. Did a self check to squash that inner editor–I imagine him kinda like this:

Then I made a mental note to forget that the keyboard has a back space function… Okay, that last is still a tough one to grapple with but I AM TRYING.

At any rate, I’m taking things lightly and not trying to stress myself over the small stuff–like common sense. My NaNo story takes place (partially) in a made up world that I’m going to work this month to flesh out, and rules of common sense just don’t apply. So I’m going to take the opportunity to laugh at myself and ride the bumps of stupidity all the way to the end.

And when November is over…then I’ll worry about what it is I wrote!

2 thoughts on “The unsaid, for me, exerts great power . . .

  1. Don’t worry: there are people want you to write and have fun! And when you get stuck, I’m sure they’ll give whatever help they can.

    Keep at it, and remember creativity is a journey so many start, but only a few ever finish.

    You can finish.

Drop your thoughts

