I try to leave out the parts that people skip…

Day three is nearly at a close for me. My total word count as it stands is a whopping 3,736. Am I worried?

Not yet…but I do feel like my obsession with those damned numbers has already reached an unhealthy level!

That said, there is a LOT of freewriting happening with my NaNo novel. So much so, that I wonder if the term ‘novel’ even applies. I may end up with 50,000 words at the end, but when I edit, I’ll be chopping a lot of that out as useless hyperbole.

     “Thanks for the rescue,” she said, wrapping her arms around him tightly. She leaned back, gazing into his bottomless emerald eyes and was swept up by the rush of emotions flooding through her body.

     “What will I do when you’re gone…”

See what I mean… What the hell is that? Bottomless emerald eyes. Hey, they are words–technically, so they count.

Everyone attacks their project from different angles, and I’m no exception. I’m woman enough to accept that HUGE CHUNKS of my story, as it stands, are completely soulless. But maybe that’s not the point. Actually, I’ve had it pointed out to me that I might not win the prize…but at least I’m writing.

And that is largely true. Where before, the words were coming in spurts far and few between–now they are coming in large sections. I’ll take them and worry about the mess I’ve made when NaNo is over.